Urban Transit: Cycling in Iraq

I understand that some Iraqis may never seen a woman on a bicycle and even though attitudes have changed over the years – seeing a woman on a bicycle is not one of them.

Bill Palladino – MLUI‘s insight:

When I was traveling with my consulting practice, I made it a point to bring along my take-down fixed gear bike everywhere I went. I’ve had the opportunity to experience urban commuting in dozens of countries around the world.  Iraq, however, is one that remained off the map. My favorite quote in this article: “Surprisingly, I found motorists to be mindful of cyclists. Every time cars hooted from behind was to alert me that they do in fact see me, and it is also considered a form of greeting. Michael told me that they would have shouted at me if there was any transgression and this very rarely occurs in traffic (unlike the road rage in South Africa).”

See on sustainablecitiescollective.com

Leave a Reply

